12 Jyotirlinga

The 12 Jyotirlingas are the 12 Shiva lingams in the 12 temples of Lord Shiva in India. Hindus believe that these are all swayambhu (self-manifested) Shiva lingams. They also believe that the Jyotirlingas are the most sacred of all Shiva lingams

The word Jyotirlinga is a Sanskrit compound of jyotis (‘radiance’) and linga (‘sign’). The Shiva Purana mentions that Shiva appeared as a huge, infinite pillar of light, the Jyotirlinga, to settle a dispute between Brahma and Vishnu over their supremacy. Brahma and Vishnu decided to find the end of the light in either direction, but failed. Shiva then revealed himself as the Jyotirlinga and cursed Brahma for lying. He also blessed Vishnu for his honesty

The 12 Jyotirlinga temples are located in different parts of India and each has a different legend and significance. The names and locations of the 12 Jyotirlingas are:

Scroll to Top

शिवजयंती ऑफर

500 Off

Happy Diwali

“May the lamps of Diwali brighten your life & Rangoli add more hues to your life.

Have a Happy Diwali.”